An emotional overdose.

The Sports Day in school is over.Another major event ticked off the list.The last two days have been eventful and very busy.What with the practices for the upcoming Ladies’ club which we would be hosting next week,the Sports Day practices and Perky’s ill health.

Yes,the evening before her Sports Day,Perk had a bout of vomiting and loose motions along with high fever.I couldn’t take the day off as I was compering the event.So next morning I dressed up a visibly weak looking child and handed her over to the class teacher.I asked her not to participate in the race if she didn’t want to.Perk had continually been winning the race or coming in the second place throughout the heats.It was rather sad for me that she would not be participating in the Final Race.

Anyways,I went about putting my children in order for their events and ultimately headed towards the microphone.The events flew by one by one.Ultimately it was time to announce the race where Perk would have participated.And to my surprise she was right up there in  line with her friends.She hardly had had a bite since the evening before and had thrown up six to seven times.I was all teary eyed when I saw her run at the sound of the whistle.I closed my eyes and said a short prayer .When I opened my eyes once again I saw that her name was among the winners.She had come Third and won the bronze medal.My heart swelled  with pride.I hugged and held her close as soon as I was free.Words failed me and instead tears rolled down my cheeks..Seeing me Perk asked,”Mamma,I know you are not happy because I did not come First.”

“Not at all Darling.I am proud that you went up and ran the race.”

These little moments remain etched in your heart forever and I am currently having an overdose of them.

8 thoughts on “An emotional overdose.

  1. I don’t remember now how I came across your blog, but I am so glad I did. I literally relive my childhood through your posts. And you have one strong and awesome daughter I must say. Congratulations Perk! 🙂

Leave a Reply

