A Treasure trove…Dilli Haat

I love visiting Dilli Haat …each time I go to Delhi.If not for anything then just to drool over all the vibrant and colourful stalls displaying the Art,the Culture,the Cuisine and the Craftsmanship of the artisans from all over the country.For me moving from one stall to another is like discovering each state bit by bit.I love the way even I interact with the shopkeepers- talking to one in Bengali when I spot Kanthawork,telling the one from MP that I  have stayed there for some time while bargaining a Maheshwari and conversing in English with the girl from Manipur for the beautiful cane bags and black stone crockery.People who stay in Delhi may argue that Dilli Haat is too expensive since they have access to a lot of fairs throughout the year but for me going from a small town where such events hardly take place,  Dilli Haat  is the hotspot where I can pick up just about anything I had been craving to buy .I find it worth the money spent if you are good at bargaining which my hubby definitely is.So I decide what to buy and leave the haggling over price to him.Shopping is incomplete without that .DSC09478DSC09472DSC09480DSC09471DSC09474DSC094762013-05-20 15.13.04I just love this section although I cannot buy as much as I would like to because of luggage constraints and also considering that I had still some more to shop from Sarojini Nagar and Lajpat and Janpath…the list goes on.

Keep falling in love with all this pottery.

Keep falling in love with all this pottery.

I am a big fan of Madhubani art and dilli haat offers wide choices

I am a big fan of Madhubani art and Dilli haat offers wide choices

I specially love the fact that after so much hard work , you can gorge on delicacies from all over India — Fish roll,mutton roll,prawn curry  at the West Bengal stall,mouth-watering Momos from Sikkim,Daal baati from Bihar,Idlis from Kerala,Biryani from Hyderabad…….the list goes on.Have I tempted you enough?

Linking this to Colours Dekor

        A Delightsome Life

4 thoughts on “A Treasure trove…Dilli Haat

  1. Of course yes 🙂 do You have a doubt on the tempting factor dear 🙂 Thanks for bringing this place to lime light! if I go to delhi next time I am pretty sure I will pull some and come 🙂 🙂

  2. Such a treasure trove of artistic work – this would be a place that would be a pleasure to visit. I am delighted that you shared with Home and Garden Thursday,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

